Ealing Park Tavern, Ealing. Crunch7, filling 7, egg 8. 

This is a special pub. Although not located in the nicest area, what they’ve done with the place, especially in the recent refurb is of a next level. 

I would go as far to say that this is one of the most beautiful, original, and all sense satisfying creations in the country. 

You are greeted by a long wooden bar with stools to boot. Atop the bar are loads of lovely pumps supplying all sorts of gorgeous nectar. The fridges are packed with even more. I picked my head up and had a look around. To the right of the entrance is a beautiful little nook, almost carved out of the pub, with 4 sets of armchairs and an open log fire. Walk through and there’s a restaurant with an open kitchen and another fire. 

Back to the bar and there are lots of tables without being cluttered. On the walls are deer heads and towards the back I walk past a fire place and it opens up again to yet more space. I can see a garden, I walk through the last part of the indoors and pass by another fire. 

There’s a huge outside area with lots of booths and seating. But hang on, what’s this? Something very special, the pub has its own brewery and makes its own beer. You must be joking I said to myself. The barman told me that they in fact had their beers at the Ealing Beer Festival that very day, I obviously went there later on. 

The egg that greeted me was monstrous. Easily the biggest I’ve had, and then some. 

The crunch wasn’t bad but the age old mistake of letting the bottom go soggy was in play here. The filling was interesting, it had some nice herbs and the venison had good flavour. Although the egg was a bit ugly it was nice and runny and was seasoned nicely. 

A really good effort in a magnificent pub.   

Leave a comment